How to Become an Actuary

The actuarial education program in Australia is made up of Foundation, Associateship and Fellowship.

The Foundation Program can be completed by:

  • studying an undergraduate actuarial degree at one of six accredited Australian universities;
  • distance examination through the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries in the UK; or
  • credit transfer from another actuarial society.

The Associateship Program is an innovative means for learning how to apply actuarial skills to a range of problems in commercial and business environments. This program is taught by the accredited universities and completed directly with the Actuaries Institute.

The Fellowship Program is offered by distance through the Actuaries Institute.   It builds on the Foundation and Associateship Programs, where students learn concepts, processes and technical skills. The Fellowship Program teaches students how to apply those skills and complete studies in specialist areas of practice.

Becoming an Actuary – Associate or Fellow?

As an Associate you can call yourself an Actuary but there are some differences.

By becoming a Fellow, you will reach the pinnacle of the actuarial profession. You’ll also be eligible for statutory roles and enhance your subject matter expertise.

To find out more, see How Do I Qualify?