Plenary Speakers


  Wayne Byres is Chairman of the Australian Prudential Regulation Authority.

Mr Byres’ early career was in the Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA), which he joined in 1984. After more than 13 years with the RBA, including a secondment to the Bank of England, he transferred to APRA on its establishment in 1998 and subsequently held a number of senior executive positions. At the end of 2011, Mr Byres was appointed to the role of Secretary General of the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision.

Mr Byres is APRA’s representative on the Australian Council of Financial Regulators, the Payments System Board, the Trans-Tasman Council on Banking Supervision, the Basel Committee and its oversight body, the Governors and Heads of Supervision.

  Kevin Davis is a 

Professor of Finance at the University of Melbourne, Research Director of the Australian Centre for Financial Studies and a Professor of Finance at Monash University. In 2014 he was a panel member of the Financial System Inquiry chaired by Mr David Murray.


Shaun Dooley is the Group Treasurer having been appointed in September 2015. Treasury is responsible for all liquidity, funding, capital and associated risk management including transfer pricing.

Prior to this, Shaun led the Enterprise Risk function, which is responsible for measurement, management and monitoring of the credit and operational risk profile across the National Australia Bank Group.  This covers retail and non-retail credit risk, operational risk and compliance risk across the Group, which encompasses subsidiary banks in the United Kingdom and New Zealand.

He has been with National Australia Bank for over 24 years with a number of appointments both in Australia and offshore.  The positions have spanned relationship banking in Institutional Banking, Financial Institutions and Corporate Banking, Financial Markets, eBusiness and since 2009 Risk Management.


Peter Jolly is Global Head of Research in the Global Markets area of National Australia Bank.

His team has specialist researchers across the world covering different economies, interest rate, and currency markets. Peter has worked as an economist and researcher for more than two decades, starting out with the Central Bank of New Zealand. 

Peter is also an Honorary Fellow at Macquarie University and has a Masters Degree in Economics from the University of London.

  Michael Cant is the Executive General Manager (EGM) of Corporate Financial Services for Commonwealth Bank of Australia (CBA), In this role, Michael is responsible for providing banking products and services to business clients typically ranging in turnover from $10m to $500m.

Michael previously spent 6 years as EGM, Retail Products and Customers for CBA, where he was responsible for the Bank’s portfolio of personal banking products, including home loans, deposits and transaction accounts

Prior to these roles, Michael was Chief Financial Officer for the CBAs Wealth Management division, which includes the Banks funds management (Colonial First State) and Insurance (CommInsure) businesses.

  Nicolette Rubinsztein is the Director of UniSuper. Prior to taking on that role, she was a General Manager at Colonial First State, a director of ASFA (the Association of Superannuation Funds of Australia) and a Vice President at BT. Nicolette has a high industry profile and is a regular presenter and media commentator, including at three actuarial conferences.
  Steven Münchenberg is the Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Bankers’ Association, the organisation representing the banking industry in the development of public policy and regulation.

The ABA works to improve public awareness of the banking industry’s strong contribution to the economy and to ensure Australians continue to benefit from a stable and competitive banking industry.

Steven is Chairman of the Board of the International Banking Federation and the Finance Council of Australia. He has over 30 years of experience in public policy in the private, public and not-for-profit sectors, and has held senior roles at National Australia Bank and Business Council of Australia.

Keynote and Plenary Speakers

 Stuart Stoyan