Volunteer of the Year Awards

The 2017 Volunteer of the Year Awards were presented at the Sydney Volunteer Cocktail Party on 21 June. 

Congratulations to:

Avanti Patki -
 Young Volunteer Achievement Award

Gae Robinson -  Distinguished Service Award 

Andrew Boal -  President’s Award

Read more about the Volunteer of the Year Awards on Actuaries Digital.

To  recognise and celebrate the contributions of our outstanding volunteers, this year for the first time, the Institute introduced Volunteer of the Year awards across three categories.  

  • The President's Award seeks to recognise an individual who, through their volunteer activities, contributes significantly to the Institute’s key strategic programs and positively impacts the reputation of the profession.
  • The Distinguished Service Award recognises outstanding achievements of a member who has been an active volunteer with the Institute for more than five years and has contributed to two or more areas of volunteering activities.
  • The Young Volunteer Achievement Award recognises the outstanding contributions made by volunteers aged 30 years and below and are judged based on the nominated applicants’ commitment to excellence in their chosen field of volunteering, leadership and determination to advance the profession.

The very existence of many key programs and services depend on the vital contributions of our volunteers.  The Institute would not be able to deliver these without the commitment, time and expertise of so many committee members and volunteers.